View Full Version : How to hockey stop?

brucen32
11-09-2006, 02:13 PM
Hi, I'm a beginner skater. Currently I slow down by doing a snow plow where I slowly point both toes inwards causing both skates to skid on the inside edges. But for the life of me I just can't stop with parallel skates to one side like in hockey skids. I think the problem lies with the inner foot that must be on the outside edge, it just won't skid and I'm afraid it will catch the ice and I'll just flip. Could it be that my blades are too sharp on this edge? Or is it that I'm just not leaning to the one side enough or not bending down enough? OR something else? Any tips on how I can improve in this area?

Thanks in advance for any advice,

Bruce

Isk8NYC
11-09-2006, 02:23 PM
A quick search brought up these two threads, which should be helpful.

http://www.skatingforums.com/showthread.php?t=893

http://www.skatingforums.com/showthread.php?t=13403

Team Arthritis
11-09-2006, 02:25 PM
well Bruce, Hockey stops are a lot easier in Hockey skates than figure skates because we have sharper edges and of course the toepicks. The trick is that you want the skates to slide/skid rather than grip. The natural thing is to dig in the edge but this will catch the edge and flip you on your head :frus: , I've done it! So you actually need to think about flattening out the blades by rolling the knees out over your ankles, just like skiing. THen you have the front back problem - too much weight on the front of the blade and you'll turn backwards and vice versa.

Overall I think that stopping is overrated and should be avoided :lol:
Lyle

Award
11-09-2006, 06:03 PM
Yes, that is true indeed. Hockey stops are extremely overrated. But have to watch out when doing it with the figure skates due to the presence of the toe pick as somebody team arth mentioned.