View Full Version : Resources for Interpretive (Artistic)?

Rusty Blades
10-30-2006, 11:49 AM
As an over-the-hill beginner, I hope to venture into Interpretive since I will never be able to compete in other areas with those who started younger and have more years on the ice.

Since my schedule is pretty much full up right now, with working full time, skating 4 times each week, and trying to keep a household together, I don't have time to take a formal class but need to learn more about dance, creative dance, and performance to enhance my Interpretive skating. I have got the technical side covered with my coach and I picked up a couple of basic ballet DVDs for form and posture but think I also need to add something for "creative dance", something I can do mostly at home.

Have any of you tried any at-home creative dance DVDs? Any that you particularly liked or disliked?

Thanks!

Team Arthritis
10-30-2006, 12:29 PM
Hey Fellow AOSS!

Interpretive is a great idea! I don't know too much about being graceful but I try, sigh :frus:
I rather liked the Zumba tapes as starting simple enough for a clod like me to keep up for a little while ;)

Also try 2 foot slaloms with 2 foot F/B 3 turns, brackets and rockers. Saw a beginner win interp once doing these with head up, a big smile and good arms agains a gold and 2 silver skaters!

HAve FUN
Lyle

techskater
10-30-2006, 05:59 PM
Have you just tried skating to a piece of music while on a session and seeing where it goes? Moving your arms, doing turns, etc. That I have found to be way more helpful for interpretive programs than creative dance, ballet or whatever else.

Mrs Redboots
10-31-2006, 06:23 AM