View Full Version : Help Beginner

outsidethe9
10-22-2006, 08:59 PM
I just started skating because I want to start playing Ice Hockey so I visited a rink and skated around a little with some friends. The problem is, my ankles (insides of my feet) keep leaning towards the inside so when i skate I can't help but make a /\ shape making me lose speed. Also the insides of my feet hurt too. I dont know what the reason is, because this is my first time so I looked it up and found that i had the wrong skate size? My toes didnt touch the tips of the skate so maybe this was true, or maybe i didnt tie my laces tight enough? Is this true?
Also my friend who plays hockey said I should just give up because of my feet leaning inwards but I really want to play hockey. Please help me, as I don't know if I should follow his advice because he has been playing for 10 years.

Casey
10-22-2006, 09:12 PM
It's not your feet, it's the skates. Rental skates are notoriously lousy. But yes, tie them tighter. Also wear the smallest size you can comfortably fit in - skates tend to run smaller than shoes and you want something that fits as closely as possible.

Your ankles will also learn to control better but a stiffer boot will mean they don't have to work as hard. Another good bit is learning to trust outside edges more - at first you don't so you're body instinctively stays on inside edges out of fear of falling over. You can get a decent set of hockey skates for $50 from Itec if that's all you can afford - the hockey guy I know swears by them and says they're actually better than Bauer and CCM (the popular expensive brands) now that they're owned by shoe companies, they just have no brand recognition. He also said good things about Mission, which are about 3 times as much but still considerably cheaper. I don't personally know anything about hockey skates though, and I think you'll find few who do here as this is a figure skating forum. ;)