View Full Version : Rink's new coaching policies---grrrr!!

phoenix
09-26-2006, 07:53 PM
Got a letter today out of the blue from the rink where I do most of my coaching. New policies in place (doesn't say when they will be effective) include:

--no more teaching on public ice (where are we supposed to put the little LTS kids learning crossovers & staring at the ice? Out w/ the junior FS girls?? We don't have ANY low level FS sessions. Where am I supposed to put my 70 year old lady who loves her skating lessons??)

--coaches can no longer skate for free on public sessions (we used to get unlimited free freestyle ice--this is the final removal of any benefit for coaches at this rink)

--$150.00 annual fee to coach there (never a fee before)

--coaches are responsible for making sure their students have paid for their ice time (huh? I'm not a rink employee, I'm an independent contractor. If you can't monitor your own business that's not my problem)

--coaches teaching learn to skate group classes must buy a $150.00 coaches jacket that has the rink logo on it (yah right, I'm not buying a coat I don't even need & can't wear anywhere but that one place)

I'm so bummed, now I have to find ice time at a different rink & move all my students over.....I'm not a full time coach, I'd have to raise my lesson fees to cover the additional costs (and I just raised them for the first time in 5 years not even a month ago!! Can't do it again!!) It's so discouraging, we're trying to build the sport, encourage all ages to enjoy it, and they dump all this stuff on us. This will mean a longer drive for me to the next nearest rink, but I don't seem to have much option. BAH!!! I'm so bummed! :cry:

Isk8NYC
09-27-2006, 09:51 AM