View Full Version : I'm still skating

Skittl1321
09-21-2006, 07:41 PM
Well, it's been a really long time since I've been on the forum. Life has been exciting and busy for me, but I'm still skating.

This summer my husband and I moved to Iowa and I am lucky enough to live less than 2 minutes drive from the skating rink. (I try to bike there, but sometimes with the skate bag, it's easier to hop into the car.) Unfortunately, this hasn't meant I'm skating more- just spending less time to get to skating. I've been so busy I'm lucky just to take my 30 minute lesson.

I managed to find a job and get started in it just a few weeks after living in Iowa. I work full time as a lead infant teacher at a daycare. Then, once I had a job, the job offers started pouring in. I was offered positions at two different companies, and then a second position at the company I decided not to go with. I've also taken on some extra work, bringing my workload up way past full time. I start my new job Oct 2 and am thrilled. Hopefully my schedule will calm down and I can get more ice time in.

In addition to real work, I've decided to become a demonstrator for "The Angel Company" who sells scrapbooking and rubber stamping items. I love stamping, so I decided to do it for the discount, but then ended up with a customer base. I love TAC, so I'm glad I did it.

But, it's also taking a bit of ice time. (It is however, helping me pay for ice time)

Now about the time I have spent on the ice. I got my new skates, Jackson Competitors, and HATED them. I learned everything before in not good skates and once I got real ones on I could barely hold an edge. I am now learning to love them. I can't skate for more than 45 minutes still without my feet going numb (the toe box is a bit too narrow... it's stretching though, it used to be 5 minutes before I couldn't feel my feet) and I'm slowly getting my skills back- but what I LOVE LOVE LOVE is that with "real" blades under my boots I can spin.