View Full Version : Not enough time...

WannabeS8r
08-22-2006, 12:41 PM
Many people here know that I just got in Freestyle 1 and was self-taught before that. But I think I definetly could move up if I could have a bit more time to work on my skating. Public sessions at my rink are in the morning on weekends, but my mom and dad work until like 8! (And I have to stay home with my teenage brother who doesn't drive) Therefore, NO ONE can drive me to the rink on the weekdays. All my friends don't care AT ALL about skating and live quite far from me. I don't even know how to make up my class schedule!! (Thank god my competition is on a weekend lol)

On weekends I get to go to the rink like two times, so that's just 3-4 hours of skating a week. Sometimes even less. I'm pretty sure that if I could go to the rink more I could really improve my elements and learn more new ones much more quickly. I love skating and I can't imagine a life without it! One time I was off-ice for over a month (since the rink was closed) and I went crazy!

I have no idea why I wrote all that...But I have no one to say it to, since my parents and friends won't listen and tell me to go do some more algebra. (That's what my parents say! =P Or the plain old "Get over it! Concentrate on school!") But I want to skate and see what I can actually do in this sport! Thank you for reading ad sorry if I hurt your eyes with this long "lecture"! :roll:

flo
08-22-2006, 02:06 PM
Wannabe - 3-4 hours is not at all bad. I would suggest you get to know other kids at the rink and also introduce them and their parents to your parents. Perhaps later you can share rides. In the meantime, if you want your parents to take you seriously, then work to show them that you are a responsible kid, and can make responsible choices. Do your homework, help out at home. If your parents both work until 8, then I'm sure they'd appreciate it. Some of the best young skaters I know are also some of the best students and kids!

itfigures