View Full Version : probably a really stupid question....

sk8_4fun
07-24-2006, 03:43 PM
as you can probably guess, I'm new to all this, but what i wanted to ask is can you do ice dance by yourself?:?:

singerskates
07-24-2006, 03:52 PM
as you can probably guess, I'm new to all this, but what i wanted to ask is can you do ice dance by yourself?:?:

When learning compulsary dances, you learn them first by skating them by yourself, then before you're ready to test them you either have your coach or another skater couple the dance with you. Most often when competing, dances are done as a couple. Freedance and OD's are done as dance couples. Creative Dances can be done by yourself or with a partner.

If you're just beginning dance don't worry about a partner until you're ready to test the last Prelim Compulsary Dance, if you wish to compete in ice dance.

singerskates

phoenix
07-24-2006, 04:22 PM
Actually solo dance is becoming more & more popular, & there are more opportunities opening up for competition as well.

There is now a solo testing track, for those in areas where there is no partner/s even for testing.

Many competitions offer a solo compulsory dance event, and new this year, there are several offering solo Original Dance (where the style is set --this year it's tango--but you pick the music & do your own choreography--fun!). The Lake Placid Dance Championships started this, & several others followed suit. I'm doing Lake Placid next week, & it will be my 2nd solo competition of the summer. Indy Challenge is doing it too.

And, as singerskates said, you always start out learning the dances/steps by yourself before ever partnering them. So yes, definitely! The majority of female dancers out there don't have partners, but we still have a lot of fun!

ETA---you are lucky you're in England (just noticed that)---there, you have solo free dance competition as well!!

samba
07-24-2006, 04:40 PM