jazzpants
09-03-2002, 02:09 AM
Well, I guess I'll start this group again!!! :D

My backspin still SUCKS!!! I HATE THEM!!! :evil:

Cheers,
jazzpants

MissIndigo
09-03-2002, 10:32 AM
One thing I wonder about is why I do not feel as dizzy after I do a backspin than after I do a forward scratch. Granted by backspin is not nearly as fast as my scratch, but it is just a wonder.

JDC1
09-03-2002, 02:23 PM
I am just learning the backspin, and have actually (sadly) more success with this than I do an LFO to a scratch spin, however; that's not saying much. :-) So I can get in to the position and turn around 3 times but I don't get it, where's my weight, on the ball of my foot? How do I spin more than 3 times, have more speed going into it...that scares the beejesus out of me, I already fell once and bruised my hip for over a week on a backspin attempt. Anyway, I give total support to all and understand if you kick the ice and swear a bit, spinning can be so frustrating! Or should I say "lack of spinning can be so frustrating".

Anita18
09-03-2002, 10:51 PM
Weep, I haven't skated in over a week but hopefully my backspin will not have left me when I plan to go this weekend (to a new rink near my new college! Whee!) But the last time I skated, I had to do at least 10 minutes of bad backspins (aborts, falls, etc) before I finally got a good one. LOL I really wanted to reassure myself that it hadn't left me, but I always panic that it has so I put myself through that pain every session. :P I have to get a good entrance before I get a good spin, and on my bad entrances, I go around only 2-3 times before I have to abort it cause it's traveling so badly. :evil:

But when I get a good one, it's because I remembered to kick out and miraculously put my skating foot in the right place (facing straight ahead) at the same time!!! I think right now, it's a matter of timing and remembering to stay straight. I always collapse to one side when I start to work on them, arghghghg...