View Full Version : how long does it take..?

jazzsk8
06-30-2006, 11:23 PM
Hi! I'm a beginner in ice skating, I've never been much of an athletic person, and it's taking me FOREVER to show any kind of progress with ice skating. I'm currently working on forward and backward crossovers and have been for a while. Anyhow...I was wondering how long it took you all to complete basic skills 1 through 8? I know it's different for everyone, but I'm just rather curious ;) Thanks for taking the time to read and answer by the way!

samba
07-01-2006, 12:53 AM
Hi jazzsk8

Well you got that right, it's different for everyone, basically the younger you are the better chance you have of improving faster, I started in my late 30's and have for many years seen young skaters go from stumbling around to doing doubles and it only seemed like yesterday they were asking me how to do a cross-over.

Your age, determination, ability and most importantly your fear factor all count, but no-matter what, if you are determined enough it you will improve, I was the worlds worst coward, it took me 6 weeks to let go of the barrier, I nearly took it home with me :lol:

Good Luck and enjoy!!

Skate@Delaware
07-01-2006, 06:13 AM
Your age, determination, ability and most importantly your fear factor all count, but no-matter what, if you are determined enough it you will improve, I was the worlds worst coward, it took me 6 weeks to let go of the barrier, I nearly took it home with me :lol:

Good Luck and enjoy!!

I had no significant improvement until I let go of the barrier also! Do you know how hard it is to do proper crossovers while holding on to the barrier?