View Full Version : How do you become a coach?

beachbabe
04-30-2006, 06:50 PM
well, I've been skating for almost 3 years now and am turning 17 soon. I really want to be a coach. I love teaching figure skating and I feel like I have all the skills perfect to be able to teach any level of the USFSA basic skills program.

The thing is, I really don't know where to start. I've been coming in reguarly to help out with snowball classes but all I get paid is discounted ice time and I only get to teach marching, standing up...etc.

I really wanna teach a higher level and i don't know how to go about getting all the right certifications, insurance, etc.

So can someone explain to me this whole process in the US as far as USFSA and PSA goes. Its just so confusing lol

dbny
04-30-2006, 07:02 PM
Neither the USFS nor the PSA have any requirements for coaching, although the PSA does have both a rating and a ranking system. Your best bet, IMO, is to keep doing what you have been, while keeping your eyes open for opportunities. You could also let the skating director know that you want to do more and you could offer to volunteer if s/he can't afford to pay you yet. Most schools want their coaches to be at least 18, so you may have to stay at "junior coach" status for another year.

Isk8NYC
05-01-2006, 07:45 AM
The ISI has a good "Instructor Manual" that's available on their website. It covers a lot of the group lesson issues. The Associate Membership includes the Recreational Skater magazine as well as the professional journal called the ISI Edge. Both have information relevant to coaching.

The PSA has a similar, but higher-level, publication called the "Coaches Manual" that includes editing music, MIF diagrams, and so forth. They offer online courses for group lessons, spins, jumps, etc.