View Full Version : WOHOO! I <3 today!

Ceres
06-03-2006, 04:17 PM
Yay! :o

Today I landed the HALF FLIP!!!!!!!!!!!
I didn't even intend to do a flip but I managed to do a half flip...I was like "OMIGOD..!!! I ACTUALLY DID HALF OF AN ADVANCED JUMP!!!" I mean since I'm not taking lessons or anything and here I am landing a half flip several times....:P :P :P :P :P I WAS SERIOUSLY GOING 'WOW WOW WOW'!

...Sorry, I'm sorta too excited.

xofivebyfive
06-03-2006, 09:26 PM
I do find it very odd that you are doing half flips and spins and jumps, without ever taking any formal lessons. But cool nonetheless. I've been landing a very decent half flip myself.

dbny
06-03-2006, 09:43 PM
I know a young skater, a high school student, who was entirely self taught through singles and sit spins. What she lacked was proper technique and edge control. With a few lessons she improved in those areas and now has an Axel and is not far from being able to pass USFS pre-prelim moves with prelim not being far behind. She's quite a lovely skater. Talent goes a long way, but lessons are ultimately essential, AFAIK.

Ceres
06-04-2006, 09:26 PM
I do find it very odd that you are doing half flips and spins and jumps, without ever taking any formal lessons. But cool nonetheless. I've been landing a very decent half flip myself.

Well I cheated the landing though...But neverthless, I still landed it...!

Sonic
06-05-2006, 05:46 AM
Sorry about my ignorance - what is a half flip?

S xxx

xofivebyfive
06-05-2006, 02:42 PM
Well I cheated the landing though...But neverthless, I still landed it...!
Lol how can you tell? I didn't think it was possible to cheat half rev jumps. Ha ha. But it is exciting when you learn a new jump. I just recently landed a toeloop. Looked like a bird falling out of its nest, but it was very exciting to jump and turn a whole rotation in the air and not fall on my butt.

xofivebyfive
06-05-2006, 02:43 PM

S xxx
It's basically half a flip. LOL.