View Full Version : How realistic is it for a new adult skater to attain a high level?

newskaker5
05-31-2006, 07:16 PM
I am wondering how realistic it is for an adult skater to reach a high level in skating. I know some here who have seem to have been child skaters. I am 25 and started about 3 months ago and have complete ISI pre-alpha thru delta and am starting to work on freestyle one moves right now. I would very much like to one day be able to reach the adult gold level, learn axels, and land some double jumps (maybe even a triple!). How realistic is it for someone my age just starting to reach a level of say an interm or novice skater?

Has anyone here done that? How long did it take you?

xofivebyfive
05-31-2006, 07:21 PM
Good for you! I would assume you have as good a chance as the younger skaters to advance to those levels. Although it's probably much harder for an adult to learn double and triple jumps than the little ones. I've been skating for three months too and I'm working on my PrePre moves in the field already. I'm fifteen, so I'm kind of in between the young and "older" age.. ha :lol: Good luck in the future.

Casey
05-31-2006, 07:25 PM
The only limit is yourself. You can get as high-level as you have the motivation and patience and physical ability for.

Yeah, it's going to take effort. Yeah, you might learn slower than a little kid (or not, everybody's different I think). But that doesn't mean you can't do it. The most important thing is having patience and not losing motivation. If that starts to happen, then take a few months off and then come back...it worked wonders for me.

Best of luck.

techskater
05-31-2006, 07:43 PM
It depends on your background in other sports, your mental acuity, and a variety of other things. I personally believe everyone can learn an Axel.

mikawendy
05-31-2006, 08:47 PM
How realistic is it for someone my age just starting to reach a level of say an interm or novice skater?