View Full Version : Sit spin Help..Again

froggy
05-28-2006, 09:50 PM
I've been working on the sit spin for a couple of months already and it's still popping out at about 1 1/2 revolutions maybe 2 at best. i have looked at past threads books, took a lesson with another coach, been doing shoot the ducks, videotaped myself etc.. well today it dawned on me that maybe mabye a BIG reason why my sit spin is not spinning is because when I enter it, my free leg does not touch my skating leg and my weight is then too much distributed instead of being on the skating leg only. I tried thinking "squeeze legs together" but i just cant while spinningon the ice. off ice i began doing exercises to work those muscles to squeeze my thighs together. So my question is how do i keep my legs together? is there something I should be thinking or doing to make it (my muscles)work right?
so sorry for all the venting, this spin has been such a challenge but s/t i so badly i want to achieve well at doing!

SkatingOnClouds
05-29-2006, 03:38 AM
I'm struggling with the same issue, I cannot get my free leg anywhere near my skating leg.

Are you popping out because the spin isn't centred. It's pretty hard to hold onto the spin if you aren't centred, and I notice that getting the free leg close to the free leg isn't vital to getting the spin is centred.

Another thing, How are you going into the spin? Are you going in low and bringing the free leg around, or standing up to centre and then dropping into sit position?

NickiT
05-29-2006, 03:51 AM
For me the key to a decent sit spin is timing as much as anything else. You have to snap into that position. It's important to get the knees close together. Really try to squeeze your knees as this will help get you lower and into a better position. Once you get that you will find you have no problems spinning.

Nicki

Casey
05-29-2006, 04:00 AM