View Full Version : Talking my man into skating

Hannah
05-16-2006, 02:03 AM
So here's the million dollar question: How do I convince my husband-to-be to skate? I'm positive that he holds the prissy-skater image, though he doesn't really say it, and even though I told him about alllll the adult men who skate at the rink who are manly. I don't think he thinks that skating would even be fun. I also can't convince him that it is pretty darn good exercise (and bonus- it is cold in the rink so it takes longer to overheat).

I know there are guys on this forum... what makes you love skating?

jazzpants
05-16-2006, 02:22 AM
Well, FWIW, I've been skating for 7 years and my hubby has yet to strap on a pair of skates, figure OR hockey!!! (He's not an active person...)

Fine with me. More ice for me!!! Plus if we skate pairs or ice dance, I'm not sure that our marriage would survive the fights! :twisted: :lol:

NickiT
05-16-2006, 02:45 AM
Sometimes it's nice to have something just for you. In the years that I've skated my hubby has come on the ice about three times, but it's not his thing. He's really into his judo so we each have our own sport and that works out just fine.

Nicki

Thin-Ice
05-16-2006, 03:12 AM
I agree with Jazzpants and NickiT -- it is nice to have something that's just yours. But if you just want to get him out onto the ice to TRY skating.. tell him that's what you want for a birthday/anniversary/wedding gift.. just an hour with him on the ice. Tell him it's a gift only HE can give you and it's your idea of romantic. If he's like most guys, he won't be able to resist... and he'll know it's a relatively inexpensive gift. But you're on your own when it comes to getting him out there a 2nd time! Good luck!

sceptique
05-16-2006, 03:29 AM