View Full Version : blunt blades or wet ice

AndreaUK
05-08-2006, 01:04 PM
Hi

As Im very new to skating I am struggling with understanding my skates and the ice at the moment.
I had my blades sharpened before I started skating and have skated 10 hours on the ice. Today I didnt feel as secure or stable as usual, now this could have been for several reasons.
Firstly I was tired and had taken to the ice this morning without eating, this did affect my stamina however it wasnt my stamina I was that concerned with. I felt that I didnt have quite as much control over my feet and found that whilst forward skating and forward stroking I didnt feel very steady. I attempted forward chasses and gave up on them as I felt I was going to fall flat on my butt.
The ice today was very wet, infact it appeared to be more wet than usual and I am wondering if this had a baring on my stability on the ice.

If your blades need sharpening does this make you wobble? or could it have been the fact that the ice was very wet? Does wet ice make a difference?

Today wasnt all bad, I actually learned to glide on one leg (inbetween the wobbles) and I managed to skate backwards after only being shown how to on my last session. Im not that confident at skating backwards yet but at least its a skill learned.

Andrea xx

luna_skater
05-08-2006, 01:36 PM
Not eating would DEFINITELY affect your skating. You can't drive a car without gas, right? Well, your body can't operate properly without fuel either. It doesn't just affect your stamina, but your concentration, motor skills, etc. I notice a huge difference in my skating if I haven't eaten properly before I get on the ice.

SpiralSweetie09
05-08-2006, 04:51 PM