View Full Version : skating progress question

newskaker5
05-07-2006, 07:40 PM
I was wondering for everyone here who is at a level above the basis skills programs (ISI or USFS) how long it took you to reach this level (adults especially)?

I have been skating for 2 1/2 months (never skated before except for a few times gliding across the ice when I was younger on a pond) and have about 2-3 more skills to learn before I will officially reach the freestyle 1 level in ISI. Im not sure how long it will take me to learn these skills haha but Im hoping to be there in another month or so.

Is this a good rate of progression? I know the better you get the longer it takes to learn new skills, but I just wanted to know how long is normal to be in basic skills?

beachbabe
05-07-2006, 09:30 PM
I think you're fine. i finished the USFSA basic skills a couple of years ago and it took me about 4-5 months, but then again I'm not an adult and I wasn't starting at 0. I think you're doing fine but everyone needs a different time. Some people can learn easy stuff fast then struggle with everytihng else, while others take forever to get the basics down but progress faster with advanced skating. it really depends on you so do what feels right. Don't rush with basics though. I feel like I kinda rushed through basics and when i first had to let go of my beloved 3-turns and learn a mohawk entrance for a flip- it was back to basics since esentially my wohawks were barely passing, and now here I am doing double flips from a mohawk.

There is nothing more important than your basics...so take your time and get them perfect.

LauraLa
05-07-2006, 10:17 PM
Sounds to me like you are doing great. I've been skating a little over two months and I can't even do forward crossovers yet. I guess I'm just a very slow learner, and not very talented at skating. Still, I enjoy it. I dream of getting to Freestyle 1 some day, but I figure at the rate I'm going it will take me a year or two.

VegasGirl