View Full Version : Best way to learn

Tinkerbell
04-04-2006, 05:36 AM
Hi, all. :D

Another rank beginner here to ask for your guidance. Well, maybe "rank" is too extreme a term. I bought my first pair of skates and started working out at the rink once or twice a week 2 months ago.

The thing is, I work the vampire shift as a nurse, random days of the week(end) so, even though there are 4 days a week I don't have to work, finding time just to get to the rink before it closes is sometimes hard. The thing is, I find myself suddenly determined to be there every day I'm not at work or otherwise engaged, and obsessed with the idea of learning to skate.

Which--all of it--is a complete shift for me. A shift from being aware that we have two ice rinks in Austin, Texas and being even more vaguely aware that it is possible to learn how to skate, to realizing that there is a whole world out there for me just opening up (and threatening to swallow me whole). It's quite overwhelming and wildly exciting.

The day I realized that it was not unreasonable to think that I could own my own pair of skates was the day something in me shifted gears in a BIG way.

Anyway, enough poetry.

The point is, I work odd hours and looking at the schedule for classes at the rink, the probability of being able to take lessons did (and does) seem unlikely at this moment in time. I have two other one-hour commitments that I have to block out free time for and three would just be impossible.

So, here's what I did. I hope you won't totally blow milk out of your nose at the absurdity of this one. I bought a book. The review on Amazon.com, of the, now out-of-print, The Essential Figure Skater with a picture of Kristi Yamaguchi on the cover, assures me that its a good one to have. However, I had trouble believing that a book could teach me to skate, for real.