View Full Version : Pilates for Skaters?

Rusty Blades
03-28-2006, 09:48 AM
My coach suggested Pilates for core strength exercise but I live out in the sticks so I am looking for a good DVD. I searched the Internet and there are a zillion Pilates DVDS but I have no idea which are good.

I'm 56, over-weight, out of shape, but can change everything except my age :roll:

Anybody recommend a GOOD DVD for core strength?

Skittl1321
03-28-2006, 09:54 AM
Can I recommend before doing a DVD to find a qualified instructor and take an intro series of mat classes first (reformer is great too- but I'd start on a mat)

I've been doing Pilates for 2 years. I started with a year of DVD (windsor pilates with denise austin) and feel like I wasted my time. Not because the DVD is bad (it's actually pretty good) but because so much of Pilates is using the correct muscle to do the job, and you need an outside observer to give you corrections. Things like not letting your abs pop, putting your tailbone down, pressing into your ribs- there is just so much to think about at first and most DVDs not only don't cover it all, but they can't tell you if you aren't doing it exactly right. There are somethings that you can hurt your lower back doing incorrectly, but I think that is pretty rare- it's more the not working effectively, and therefore wasting your time because you aren't doing it right.

Now that I've done a year in classes (really 6-weeks will teach you enough that you can start to self correct) I know that when I move and can't access classes I can effectively work with a DVD. Because now I know the basics and no what to think about, what to squeeze, what to stretch etc. The DVD didn't teach me that.

HTH. And the Windsor Pilates DVD is fine if you decide you'd rather just do that- but I'd get a book too and learn more. My instructor is very big that at a beginner level Pilates is about thinking.

TashaKat
03-28-2006, 11:09 AM