View Full Version : Skating camps for me?

LydiaW
03-27-2006, 03:15 PM
I am 18, and I am just beginning skating over again. I quit at about age 10 in order to take ballet, but it ballet didn't go well, and I missed skating. Now, after some years, I am back skating again. I have always loved camps, but I have realized that this year, since I am 18, that there might not be any more camps in my future! I love skating, and I love camps...Is there any skating camps that accepts 18 year old beginners who are trying very hard?

flippet
03-27-2006, 05:33 PM
I don't know about 'camps' per se, but there are plenty of adult workshops that happen at various times during the year. One of the most popular is the Adult Week at Lake Placid that happens every August, I believe. I'm sure others will chime in with more information.

beachbabe
03-27-2006, 10:12 PM
well most rinks have a summer "camp" that accepts pretty much all skaters. or are you talking about a sleepover type camp, because I think those really are mainly for kids. I don't know if they necessarily wouldn't let you, but do you really want to hang out with lots of little kids? Ask at your rink about asummer camps, sometimes they have brochures.

LydiaW
03-28-2006, 12:16 PM
:lol: I didn't mean a camp for a bunch of kids...I meant like an intensive or a workshop...anywhere in USA, that would be a good place to learn.

Debbie S
03-28-2006, 12:38 PM
Well, there's the annual USFSA Adult Training Camp in Hackensack, NJ. I'm not sure if it's 18+ or 21+, since in USFSA comp jargon, "adults" are 21 and up.

Someone mentioned Adult Week in Lake Placid - I know someone who went last year and he had a great time. I think there are 2 - 1 in June and 1 in August, at least, the one he went to was in June. There is also an Adult Week in Aspen, CO, which from what I've read sounds almost identical to the Lake Placid camp - depending on where you live, that might be more convenient for you.

pedonskates
03-28-2006, 12:38 PM