View Full Version : what size crystals???

vicnorm
03-22-2006, 12:15 PM
Hi all....I am very new to all of this - I will be making my daughter's dress for her first competition - may or may not have crystals depending on the style (depending on the music, etc!)
Is there one size crystal that is used more often than others? Do you usually mix them up?? How do I even decide on a pattern??? Is there a tutorial for newbies like me somewhere??? :)
Pros & Cons of gluing or hotfix?? I would appreciate ANY help I can get...thanks

garyc254
03-22-2006, 12:28 PM
My girlfriend has jewelled a lot of dresses. Size 6 is the most common she uses. She uses larger sizes to spice up the pattern.

They make a special glue that holds well but stretches under the jewel. Larger fabric stores carry several varieties depending on the material it's used on.

Make sure you put a paper grocery sack or layers of newspaper under the fabric so you don't glue the sides together.

Layout your jewels in the pattern on the dress, then glue the jewels one at a time.

Use your imagination on the patterns. That's what's nice about laying the jewels out dry first. You can adjust until it pleases your eye.

Don't worry about being too exact. These are show dresses and are expected to look good only from a distance.

`

vicnorm
03-22-2006, 01:10 PM
thanks for answering my post :o) Is that 6mm or 6ss?

jenlyon60
03-22-2006, 01:25 PM
Size 6SS crystals are minute.

I use 20SS (roughly 4.5 to 5mm) crystals for most stoning, occasionally mixed with 30SS crystals (which are larger). Sometimes I'll use 16SS crystals. Rarely anything smaller (I am using some 12SS crystals on a project to provide some very subtle scatter stoning, though.)