View Full Version : How long should it take?

newskaker5
03-12-2006, 05:38 PM
I just started learning to skate (adult LTS program) and I am curious a to how long it will reasonable take to complete the LTS program and begin jumps/ advanced work, etc

I am new to skating, but I was a high level competitive gymnast and have only been out of that sport for about 3 yrs (I dont know if that helps w skating at all?). I workout daily and still have all the strength I did as a gymnast so I am fairly strong. I also run daily and strength train 3-4x per week. I am in good shape, but I know learning is more about technique than just brute strength.

Any estimates on how long it will take me? I know there are tons of variable, but I was just wondering

Thanks so much!

VegasGirl
03-12-2006, 05:44 PM
Without seeing you skate there's really no way to even guess...

newskaker5
03-12-2006, 05:50 PM
Ok...well I can do forward and backward glides, skake on one foot on each leg, and can do a one revolution spin on two feet. I have taken 2 group lessons so far

I was just wondering if there is an average length of time one takes to complete the LTS program from prealpha thru delta (or from 1-8)

coskater64
03-12-2006, 06:40 PM
Without seeing you skate it really is difficult. There is a quality issue and in all honesty rushing through is not a good idea. Since you are a former athlete and in good shape you will have solid core strength and that is helpful along with the fact that you most likely have good coordination with your arms and legs.

Take your time, learn to do things correctly, focus on quality rather than quantity.

Good luck in your skating endeavors.:lol:

DressageChica
03-12-2006, 06:54 PM
Hey. I've seen some people advance really quickly, and some people not advance at all...but of course that's been for a specific reason (like quitting, no privates, not pushing themselves, etc)