View Full Version : off ice jumps- where do you do them??

Terri C
03-12-2006, 03:28 PM
My coach has been after me to start working my jumps off ice and I've started today.
Since I do not have room in my house to do this, I'm doing all of my off ice in the backyard, which with spring coming should be nice, but there is one problem, and this may sound silly trying not to land in any of the dog's "landmines".
So if you do work your jumps off ice, where do you do it?

jp1andOnly
03-12-2006, 03:59 PM
I'm a teacher so I practice after school in the gym. My coach has me jumping up onto benches to work on axels. I can do that and I put the floor mats all around the bench in case I go for a splat.

My other option is the gym in my apt building. The room adjoining is empty with mats for people to stretch. If I'm in there by myself I'll work on jumps, if not, its stretching as I got a couple of weird looks one time.

SkatingOnClouds
03-12-2006, 04:43 PM
The very tentative off-ice jumps I do, I do anywhere I have room. In my daughter's playground while we're waiting for the classroom to open, nice soft bark chips to land on. In the living room, in the backyard. At the park. On the beach isn't bad, because the damp sand has some give, although it isn't great for the pushing up.

I say I do tentative off-ice jumps, because I am worried about wrenching my landing knee. When you land jumps on the ice, your momentum keeps you going backwards and around, but off ice, you're just landing and stopping dead. I worry this is going to wrench my landing knee too much. Am I doing it wrong, how do others protect their landing knee when practising off-ice?

sue123
03-12-2006, 05:03 PM