View Full Version : Probably been asked before! but pls help

shell27
03-12-2006, 09:35 AM
I am new to Skating. After wanting to do it for for many years but never getting round to it etc i have finally been going a few times.

I want to buy my own boots but not sure whether to go for hockey boots or figure skates, i just want to skate for fun and maybe have lessons later on.
Is there much difference in boot styles? is one easier to learn in? or is it just about style.
i know that hockey boots have no toe pick?? so certain figure skate moves cant be done but im not too worried about that now!

Pardon my ignorance but like i said im new to this and could really use some advice

Isk8NYC
03-12-2006, 09:50 AM
Shell27: Answer these questions right away.

Do you plan to spin and jump or are you going to do ice dance and footwork?
Or are you just going to recreationally skate? (No harm in having your own skates for that.)

Height:
Weight: (Thin, heavy, in the middle)

What part of the world are you from?
(ie. Northeast USA, Australia, Quebec, London - it affects brand rec's.)

What size shoe do you wear now?

What WIDTH shoe do you wear now? (Narrow, regular, wide)

Anything else we should know?
(ie. Recovering from broken ankle, pronate, etc.)

What's your budget?
(Optional; you'll get tons of suggestions that run the gambit.)

What types of lessons are available to you? Group or Individual.

shell27
03-12-2006, 11:02 AM
HIya, thanks for replying.

Im just going to be a recreational skater, nothing fancy, just want to enjoy it and have a bit of fun.

Im in London and we have group lessons and individual tuition availible.

ive heard that hockey boots are much more comftable but take a bit more getting used to??

NickiT
03-12-2006, 11:06 AM