View Full Version : How Often do you sharpen your blades?

cecealias
03-11-2006, 05:16 PM
I'm just beginning to wonder if i'm weird, or what - I don't sharpen my blades very often yet I skate pretty frequently. When healthy i skate about 4-6 times a week for about an 1.5 -2 hrs.

I only sharpen my blades once every 5-6 months or sometimes even longer. It doesn't bother me unless i start feeling really slow and have work on getting into the ice a lot. Is there anyone else like this? Everyone else I know sharpens their blades like every month or every other month.

WhisperSung
03-11-2006, 05:36 PM
I used to wait every 4 months to get my skates sharpened until I took my juvenile moves test. I passed, but all 3 judges wrote, "get your skates sharpened!" because I was slipping off my edges a little bit.

Now I sharpened them once every 6 weeks or so. Then again, I only skate about 4 days a week. It seems to work well for me. I had a friend, though (the guy who taught himself all his singles and doubles) who waited 9 months and just recently got his skates sharpened. That sort of made me cringe :P

EastonSkater
03-11-2006, 06:04 PM
I sharpen my blades before every session I go to. I use the pro-filer. Just never know what kind of stuff the skate runs over on the ice during each session. I think it's a bit suspect to not have your blades sharpened for months on end, especially if you skate a lot.

froggy
03-11-2006, 06:08 PM
I skate about 3x/week 2 hours each time. I sharpen my blades just about every 3-4 months, I know I need a sharpening when I start slipping on my edges when practicing my MITF.

icecatepairs
03-11-2006, 06:19 PM
I skate a lot , so i sharpen them every 3 weeks. i find that they get worn unevenly in pairs becaseu of death spirals andsometimes we clink blades or step on each othe in a split twist , so often they need to get the nicks out.

TreSk8sAZ
03-11-2006, 07:01 PM