View Full Version : when should I upgrade to better blades?

mikawendy
08-26-2002, 09:43 PM
Hi everyone--thanks for the technique tips on 3 turns and stroking--came in handy at yesterday's practice.

I was wondering when I should think about upgrading to better blades. I have Wilson Excels (on Riedell 275s) and I've been skating for about 9 months now. I don't feel any particular need for a change until I get new boots (and if I switch to SP-Teris to fit my triangular feet when my current boots break down, I'll probably need a slightly different size blade)....

...but someone I skate with grimaced when I told her what blades I have and said I should try Coronation Ace. It feels like my blades have nearly no rocker, but the Aces are a big step up, right? Should I be thinking about those blades when I'm in the higher USFSA freestyle levels? Right now I'm in USFSA Basic 5.

Thanks!!! :D
--mikawendy

Elsy2
08-26-2002, 10:29 PM
I used a beginner blade for two years....but I wish I had upgraded sooner. The day I skated on my Coronation Aces, you couldn't wipe the smile off my face. My beginner blades had no rocker by that time, and changing to the Aces was a breeze. Turns became effortless...and I finally learned to spin on the Aces. Soooo...in retrospect, I should have upgraded when I started spinning and doing toe jumps. It would have made my skating less of a struggle. I wouldn't be too worried about upgrading to Aces. It's a fine Intermediate blade.

Anita18
08-27-2002, 12:31 AM