View Full Version : A couple of questions from a.. new skater

xofivebyfive
03-06-2006, 06:45 PM
I'm relatively new to the figure skating aspect of skating. I've been skating like, around in circles in rinks for a few years so I'm very comfortable with my basic skating skills. I recently skarted a Learn to Skate program and had to enter the Pre Alpha New Adult level since I'm fifteen. I'm obviously more advanced than the other skaters since they try to walk on the ice instead of glide like you're supposed to. I just had a couple of questions for some of the more.. knowledgeable people on here.

I'm totally upset that I didn't realize how much I loved skating until this late in the game, because by now, girls my age are at junior or senior level. I don't expect to get very far up in the ranks considering I only have about 3 years left in high school(and I guess to train also) until I go to college whereas younger children who start at say, age 8 have a good nine or ten years. I'm also tall, so that might be an issue also.

1. At what point do you think I should start taking private lessons? I'm very anxious to learn more, but of course, not before making sure the skills I have now are perfected. As much as I would like to teach myself new things, I don't want to teach myself the wrong way, and then have problems trying to fix my approach later on.

2. What level do you think is the highest I might be able to reach in the next 3 years if I continue to work year round. I'm a fast learner and I'm not afraid of falling or getting hurt on the ice, since I've played soccer for 9 years and have been a goalie for 5, not to mention I survived preseason of highschool soccer this year.(that was horrible torture.. lol)