View Full Version : Best ways to learn?

Sooky
02-07-2006, 02:36 AM
Hi, I am returning to skating after being a keen, but self-taught skater as a teenager (now 36). The things that seemed effortlessly easy 20 years ago are now so much harder (e.g. crossovers - gives you an idea of how much skill I've lost) and I admit I am nervous about taking risks. Two children and a busy job mean injuries would be 'a v. bad thing'!

I am practising on my own at the rink, and have been using books and instructional videos to build a programme of skills to develop and practise. I realise that a good teacher is probably the best way to go, especially at my age, but wondered what difference people feel a teacher makes and whether books/videos are ever really adequate?

Would really appreciate your thoughts.

Sooky

NickiT
02-07-2006, 02:42 AM
Books and videos may be helpful but nothing beats having a good coach. The trouble with being self-taught is that it is very easy to slip into bad habits, or even the fact that you may think you are doing something correctly when in fact you are far from it and therefore at a greater risk of injury. By taking lessons from a good coach you will learn the correct technique and be constantly reminded should you start falling into bad habits. If you opt for private lessons which in my opinion is the best option, your tuition will be devised specially for you, your coach will get to know your strengths and weaknesses and will focus on what YOU need and want to learn. I say go and get yourself a coach or at the very least, book yourself onto a class. Good luck.

Nicki

EastonSkater
02-07-2006, 02:50 AM
Books and instructional videos sure help a lot. Obviously they may not show you everything, but at least they might bring up some key points to know.