View Full Version : beginner questions on forward skating

brucen32
01-29-2006, 07:58 PM
I am a beginner and have some questions about forward skating.

The way I skate now, it would be hard to tell I am a complete beginner when forward skating because I resemble intermediate skaters when simply coasting forward at a moderate speed. However, that is part of the problem, I have to be going at a moderate speed to look 'normal'.

When I watch the skate instructor forward skate, she goes forward slowly and does a T-pushoff for example, with the right foot. In this case she will glide on the left foot alone and her right leg will be extended outward to the side and straight and she can pull in that right leg whenever she wants to. Then she can alternate to the other leg.

At moderate speed, the ability to hang that leg out straight and glide on the other lone skate is masked because you are exchanging the skate on the ice fairly quickly. However, I can't do what the instructor does very well. With a lot of practice I am now able to come somewhat close to what she does. When I pushoff with the right foot, I can go straight on the left foot and hang out the right foot (not completely straight) for a little while. But only on the left foot! When I do this with the right foot on the ice, #1) I can't do it very long, meaning most of the time I almost immediately have to bring back the left foot to the ice to maintain balance. And #2) on some occasions when I am able to balance a little longer on the lone right skate, for some reason I don't glide straight, but I start curving to the left, suggesting that I am on the inside edge.