View Full Version : When did you start ice dancing?

crayonskater
01-23-2006, 04:33 PM
I'm a relative beginner, and I'm quickly discovering that while I enjoy spinning and edgework, I'm only half-heartedly into jumping. (Part of this is that I don't think jumps look good until about doubles, and that's probably not happening with a questionable right knee, my finances and starting at 25 anyway.)

I've been considering focusing on dance training; I like the idea of learning patterns and doing them to music.

Now I'm still a pre-bronzied beginner, but I have relatively strong edges & crossovers and I was wondering when people started dance lessons? Would I be nuts to ask my coach about dance now? Can you dance without a partner?

TashaKat
01-23-2006, 05:14 PM
You can start Dance at any time. I started Dance WELL after I took up Free and then only a) to get better basics and b) because the Dance coach was cute :)

There's no reason that the two (Free and Dance) can't go hand in hand and you will find that the Dance will help your Free skating as you'll have better footwork, better edges, better lines, better grace, better steps, better poise .....

NO, you would not be nuts to ask your coach about starting Dance, some of the 'baby' Dancers are pretty easy anyway so should be WELL within your scope :D

YES, you can dance without a partner in fact I firmly believe that you should be able to do a dance solo even if you do have a partner. In the UK we have a Solo Dance championships and you see some absolutely awesome skaters out there. There are also solo dance classes (for kids and adults) in most of the comps too :)

Re: the double jumps. If you don't think that jumps look good until they're doubles then you've never seen a REALLY GOOD single jump :) A well performed waltz jump is a sight to behold :)