View Full Version : Just started skating again...what ice skates to buy?

Luv Ice Skating
01-22-2006, 06:05 AM
I just started ice skating again and I really want my own pair of figure ice skates. I don't plan on doing any tricks or anything like that. I just want to skate around the rink. The ice skate rentals at my local rink are in horrible condition. So that's not an option.

What brand figure ice skates for Women do you recommend and where should I buy them from? Online or the ice rink store?

I'm also not an expert on ice skates or ice skating. So any do's and don'ts that you would like to share about ice skates and ice skating is gladly appreciated.

sunshinepointe
01-22-2006, 08:31 AM
If you're just planning on doing some light stroking but want to have more support than rentals - my old coach used to skate in the Soft-tec skates and loved them. They're basically like sneakers with blades on them.

If you want a more traditional skate, most people start out in Riedells although I personally hate them. You should go to a pro shop that has a reputable fitter and that also has several different brands to try on. Explain that you want a basic entry level skate and they should measure you then bring out several pairs in several sizes for you to try on. I can't stress how important it is to get a properly fitting boot.

From what I understand, your boot should be very snug with little wiggle room for the toes. Your heel needs to be locked in place with no movement either side to side or up and down. A good fitter can only tell so much based on how they look on your feet so its important that they ask you questions about how it feels on your foot.

Of course this is an ideal situation, and most people have a young kid working in their rinks pro ship that knows more about hockey than they do figure skates, so go armed with an arsenal of research and you should be fine :)

VegasGirl
01-22-2006, 12:18 PM