View Full Version : Double salchows!!!!

cutiesk8r43
01-17-2006, 08:02 PM
hey everyone

does anyone have any tips on double salchows? I have been working on them for a few months and can't seem to get the height and rotation. my coach says I'm not kicking my leg all the way through, so i was wondering if anyone had any tips on kicking all the way through and getting the hieght and rotation.
thanx in advanced

~Cutie ;)

P.S> i searched for other threads about double salchows but couldn't find any ,so if you know any please put a link here, thank you! :)

sitspin89
01-17-2006, 08:41 PM
make sure to take you time adn really let your free leg come through before you acutally take off. Maybe try a Mowhawk entry i find that way easier adn gives you more flow during the jump. Hope this helps!

flo
01-17-2006, 09:30 PM
It's my favorite jump. I think the above is correct in that you really need to take your time and feel the 'swoop' timing of the jump. One of my problems is that I kick through too far. Then you have to shift over on that side and rotate.

vesperholly
01-18-2006, 04:05 AM
The free leg should come forward and then up, like you are drawing an upright CCW circle in the air with your free foot (like pedaling a bike backwards). Keep your left arm strongly checked in front even before you step onto the LFO-3, and keep it in front during and after the turn. You should bring your right knee up to meet your left hand in front of your torso.

The right knee driving upwards is the key to getting good height. The strong left arm check will, when released, give you a good snap for rotation. Double sals are my best double and if I forget to drive the knee up, they never work. Be careful about throwing it too far around - it can start your rotation too early. You want this jump to go UP and then IN.

b-al
01-18-2006, 01:40 PM