View Full Version : Spinning tips needed

SusanaO
08-23-2002, 10:48 AM
I am just learning to spin (2 feet of course) and I've noticed that keeping my arms a little more relaxed (they were just sticking out to the sides rather stiffly before) and letting myself spin made a huge difference. During my last two lessons I went from 3 revolutions to 5 revolutions and finally to 7. :mrgreen:

I really value the input I've received from all of you. It has made a big difference in my getting the hang of mohawks and FO3 turns. Does anyone have any tips they would like to share with a novice spinner? By the way, given that my practice time is very limited (almost non-existent I would say) by my work schedule, do you think a spinner would help?

JDC1
08-23-2002, 04:25 PM
This may sound cute or trite but - Patience!! I am having the hardest time learning to spin, jumps have been easier as have moves in the field, and sometimes I get so frustrated I feel like crying or kicking the ice!

Not having seen you spin it's hard for me to tell what you might be doing that would need correction.

So just some rules of thumb -

Try to keep your feet parallel (unlike me whose feet go out).
Do not lean back.
If a spin starts wonky/weird just stop, you can't fix it.
If you want a little more speed and more rotations keep your knees bent longer.

Have fun!! You sound like you're doing quite well already.

Mrs Redboots
08-24-2002, 06:31 AM
The thing about the arms - and I speak here as a very spin-challenged skater - is that you mustn't have them sticking out. As you have found, relaxing them helps, and then, when your spin is established, try to bring them in to wrap them around yourself. This will help your revolving. My coach is forever on at me to "pull in!" (But, of course, if I do then the spin happens, and that's scary.....).

Elsy2
08-24-2002, 10:38 AM