View Full Version : Axel

LilMissPurrrfec
01-08-2006, 03:24 PM
I've been working on my axel for a couple of months now. I can land it off ice consistently with 1.25 turns, sometimes with 1.5. On ice though I'm just not getting to grips with it. I've been doing it from standing on the ice, although I think it would be easier if I skated into it. I did a test and off-ice I can't get the rotations if I go straight from standing - surely this would be a reason on ice too?

What's your experience with skating into axels as opposed to starting from standstill?

Anyother axel tips also appreciated!

Debbie S
01-08-2006, 03:49 PM
I'm not working on the axel yet (and at the rate I'm going, I probably never will - lol) but I think the general rule with jumps is that you get more height and rotation (and flow on the landing) if you go into them with speed as opposed to a standstill. I tend to slow down on my loops, and while I find it less scary to jump that way, I usually end up cheating it or coming to a complete stop when I land. When I jump with a little bit of speed, I find it easier to complete, as long as I don't back off from it.

cutiesk8r43
01-08-2006, 04:21 PM
yeah it is easier doing an axel moving than standstill axels, but my coach had me land it first standing still, then she had me doing like 2 backward crossovers. What might help you when your standing still is to push forward then jump, that way you are moving alittle bit.
well good luck! :)

~Cutie ;)

BelleOnIce
01-08-2006, 06:22 PM
I think most coaches prefer getting you get most of the rotation from standing as it then makes it easier when you add the speed.
When I was learning I remember trying from a stand still, then moving on to a little side step on my toes in to it (like you may do off ice), then doing a three turn and push, and lastly doing it from some cross overs.
If you add speed too soon it could mean you lose control of the jump which may take alot more work to fix.