View Full Version : where did my waltz jump go?

blisspix
11-22-2005, 10:46 PM
I've been doing waltz jumps for 12 years. And suddenly, the last few weeks, I've had trouble with them! I don't know if it's the Phantoms or something else, but when I try to take off, I just don't go anywhere! My left foot stays on the ground.

On more successful attempts, my foot leaves the ice much later than it ever used to, and it feels like I'm sliding along the length of the blade up to the toe picks (sort of rocking forwards on the blade) before the take off. Obviously I always rocked up to the picks but it is feeling much more pronounced lately. So it's affecting my timing. This is really weird, and I can't work out whether this is a sort-of-good thing or a really bad thing.

My axel is suffering the same problems, but the axel has so many other problems anyway!

Any tips???

Thin-Ice
11-23-2005, 02:23 AM
Did you recently have your skates sharpened? If so, check the rocker on your blade. You may be down to a relatively flat blade so you can't get as much of that rocking-forward motion.. which means your forward momentum could be getting left on the ice... or you may have a less rounded rocker.. which would make your blade feel/look something like a stair and would stop the forward flow of motion.. although when you hit the "right" spot on your blade, you would still be able to jump forward.

Is there any difference in your other jumps?

sue123
11-23-2005, 08:09 AM
Well, I ca't help you find yours, but I know mine went with all the cartilage in my knee for a little sightseeing trip, it seems. I'm right now on a search to find it. Good luck with finding yours.

TimDavidSkate
11-23-2005, 03:13 PM
There are times any jumps or spins might escape you one day, or even a week. It might be because you are tired.
Don't worry, it will come back to you when you will need it, Promise :halo: