View Full Version : Sport Psychology

Caitlin
10-28-2005, 10:40 PM
i'm a student doing an essay on sport psychology. it would be nice to get the opinions of other people involved in skating, and maybe those that arent? you could list anything you want about it, benefits, disadvantages, do you think it's worth the money... it's a wide topic. i'd appreciate the help

miraclegro
11-03-2005, 03:33 PM
Let us know what type of questions you would like to answer...also my former coach got her Doctorate in Sports Psychology so let me know if you need any help in that direction.

Maybe some ideas for you could be: Succesful skaters who have learned to focus and what their techniques are, or skaters who have overcome tremendous odds: Scott Hamilton is one (he had a lot of health issues as a child), Jenny Kirk (i think she's the one whose mom died from Breast Cancer); and the '05 Russian Gold women's skater - i know her name but can't remember it-- she got really sick and had major major things that she had to stop for a while. Maybe title your paper "Attitude determines Altitude." Just a suggestion!

doubletoe
11-03-2005, 08:04 PM
Yes, I think the term "Sports Psychology" generally has to do with HOW athletes use psychology to improve their athletic performance. For example, athletes often improve their performance by learning how to focus, using positive visualization, using mental relaxation techniques and using strategy in competitions.

Maybe you could ask what techniques have helped people to perform better on tests and in competitions. :)

TimDavidSkate
11-03-2005, 09:33 PM
I visualize everyDAY!!! I have learned it even before skating, my chorus teacher :halo: She told the choir group on how things will go in detail from the moment the curtain will open and how we will battle our nerves.