View Full Version : this sucks!!!

bladebabe69
06-23-2005, 10:57 PM
Hey everyone...
Well this kinda sucks, tonight i was skating, and i was doing pairs with my new partner and i was doin an inabower and i had alot of speed and i got into a speed wobble and broke my ankle... :cry: :frus: im so mad because now i am off for at least 8 weeks which really sux....because now my skating career might be done....i might have to get pins in my ankle thats how bad it is....anyways i just thought i'd let everyone know what was goin on and i'd like your input on this

thanks
sincerely
Caitlin

Figureskates
06-23-2005, 11:23 PM
Ouch.

I am really sorry that you had this happen to you.

Hopefully, it not be as bad as you think it is. I have no experience personally with pins but I have known a few skaters who have and they seemed to do as well afterwards then they did before the break, and these are adults too.

You at least have youth on your side which is a big plus. All I can say is follow your doctor's orders to the letter and try to keep an upbeat attitude.

Good luck and please keep us informed of your progress.

Andie
06-23-2005, 11:45 PM
Oh no, I'm sorry that happened to you. It's one of the things that scares me about skating. Hope you get better soon.

My coach once told me about his student (or was it a former student?) who has broken her ankle and needed pins in it. He also teaches a woman, who's about 50, who's had a broken leg from skating. But he said it was mainly because she's sort of careless on ice, or something.

stardust skies
06-24-2005, 03:07 AM
double posted, it wont let me delete.

stardust skies
06-24-2005, 03:08 AM
Upside: If you have to get surgery, you'll be good as new. Even if you don't, you'll eventually be good as new. You might lose your season, but not your career. Broken bones are better than sprains in that they fully heal.