View Full Version : Happy or Sad - 20-26 June 2005

Casey
06-20-2005, 06:17 PM
Title in honour of the ways we feel about our skating at various points. This came to the forefront because of the horrible plateau I was on and then the joyous end of it! Hopefully anyone else having difficulties in skating or otherwise find something happy to make up for it this week.

Happy: Today my coach gave me ISI tests, and now instead of officially being a lowly Alpha, I'm now officially Freestyle 2! I passed every part of the Freestyle 2 test with no issues except for the dance step sequence for it, which I had to learn today since I've never done it before!! It was pretty easy though, once I
remembered all the moves in the right order. Passing this test was the ambitious goal I set for myself at the beginning of the year, and now I've gone and done it already. Time for new, more ambitious goals! :D

I almost feel like a real skater now... :-)

Sad: I did not, however, pass Freestyle 1, because my back inside edges are still a little off. They're close though, so I'll just retake this test when I do Freestyle 3 (which I did not test, because I can't do change-foot spins yet - really it's not the change foot part that's the problem, it's the backspin part that is).

Future plans for happiness: I'm going to focus on backspins and back inside edges pretty hard, plus working a lot on the loop and flip (apparently my flip is not cheated like I thought it was - I'm actually doing the jump mostly right! Woo hoo!). Those should all go nicely hand in hand. I've also been working on sit spins for about a week, so I'll be working on those more too. Hopefully within a few months I can go back and retake Freestyle 1, plus pass Freestyle 3 and 4 and also test for USFSA Adult Bronze (and of course Pre-Bronze first).

Argh so much to do...I have to find some music to skate to, get a program put together, too!