View Full Version : 28 Adult Male Skating for 4 Months Skating

rf3ray
04-26-2005, 03:23 AM
Hey I'm new to this board and I have been skating for 4 months only and can do all the basics, and I have a private coach, and wanting to see if I can get to Australian National Level within 2 years

I can do these
Back/Front Inside and outside 3's
Mowhawks
And Spins (which are centered 90% most of the time, the spins I got down within 1 week)

Do you think it is possible for me to get to Australian National Level within 2 - 3 Years? 8O 8O 8O

And is this a good progress for a beginner ADULT skater to get this far in 4 months, without prior skating before?

Anita18
04-26-2005, 06:42 AM
Yes, no, maybe so? ;) Everyone progresses at their own speed, and I don't think it's really necessary to be comparing yourself to others, UNLESS you're a competitive skater with Olympic aspirations. That's another thing entirely. I think you're progressing fairly well, personally, but I'd have to see you skate. You would be better off asking your coach, I think. Obviously a lot of things can be learned in 4 months but I personally can tell a beginning skater from a more experienced one by the quality of their stroking and edges rather than the moves, spins, and jumps that they can do.

Like, what is the quality of your back outside and inside 3's? I think mine suck, personally, and I don't think I can do them just yet but I get around on them. I will consider myself "capable of doing them" after I can turn in all of the directions and sides without fear and with good runout and power. Everyone's personal opinion of "having" an element will differ. I once saw an adult skater practicing the crappiest flips and lutzes I had ever seen (barely getting around on either of them) and she told a friend later, "Oh, I have the flip down, but the lutz still needs a little bit of work.." 8O Not in my book, lady! :lol: I seem to be more picky than others...