View Full Version : Skates & Flying To An

starskate6.0
04-03-2005, 01:56 PM
Dear Friends

As most of you will know I am a pilot for the airlines and I would like to give you a few inside tips about taking your skates to nationals if you are flying. Here are some ideas you can try...
1. I have been talking to TSA people most of the week regarding taking your skates through security and on board an aircraft. The mix bag of answers i got where unclear and it seems to change with whom ever you talk to at the time. So it seems that TSA has no real Answer. However, The general opinion amongst them is that the answer is no :cry: . Keep in mind this may not be universal at your airport.
2. I suggest that if you intend to carry your skates on to the aircraft, you rap the blades up with gards on with duct tap. This may or may not be exceptable. don't mention it and see if they have a problem with it when you pass through security. :?? ( remember they don't have a clue about skaters) ( smile a lot be friendly, this sometimes helps)
3. Arrive very early. If you pass through security and they do not want you to take them on board you will have to return to the check in counter and check them in. (LOTS OF LABELS, UGLY BAGS ARE EASY TO FIND).
4. Heres my best idea, dont take them at all. FEDEX them to your hotel before you leave, CALL THE HOTEL, tell them to expect the package. ;)
and get a TRACKING NUMBER from FED-EX or UPS.( 8Overy important 8O )

The next part is for those flying out of PHL to MCI ( KC).