View Full Version : How often do you get to the rink?

aussieskater
03-27-2005, 11:36 PM
Reading the various threads over the past little while (cracked or chocolate, purr or hairball etc), it's dawned on me that many of you seem to be able to skate 4-6 times a week, with private lessons maybe 2 or 3 times from different coaches. I'd love to know how often each of you skates and has a lesson, and also whether you're an adult or standard track skater, just for comparison to down here.

I'll start - I'm an adult beginner (and when I say "beginner" I mean "beginner": can do barely decent fwd and back crossovers both ways, FO3s both ways, and thanks to adult synchro am picking up a heap of other footwork like back COEs, FI3's, various mohawks and other stuff. Can do none of it competently yet, but it's coming. So is Christmas. 2025.).

I skate 3-4 times a week when I can for 1-1.5 hours a time, and have 1-2 half-hour lessons, depending on finance etc. Ice is expensive here ($15 to get in each time), while lessons are the standard $30 per 30 min.

How does this compare to you?

Chico
03-27-2005, 11:52 PM
I try to skate five days a week. Mornings, when my children are in school. This does depend on what is going on with my family. Sick children, medical visits, and no school days do impact this. I take weekends off to spend time with my family. I usually skate for an hour or an hour and a half at a time. I take one 30 min. lesson a week. Level? Well, I'm sorta all over the board. =-) I'm "good" compared to some, hanging in there compared to others. I have made good progress and continue to learn. Have fun and enjoy playing. =-)

Chico

NickiT
03-28-2005, 01:32 AM
I skate three times a week amounting to 6 hours in total, and I take two private half hour lessons per week.

Nicki

jazzpants
03-28-2005, 01:59 AM
Let's see... this is what I've been doing as of late...

Monday-Wednesday nights 1.5 hrs each session