View Full Version : stronger upper body?

bladebabe69
03-20-2005, 08:04 PM
Hey everyone ok well my coach is always ragging on me that i need a strong upper body and it will make it easier to jump and that i have terrible upper body problems and see skating never came easy for me ive always had to work for everything i have because of my size. I was born 11 weeks early and everything and i have absolutly no upper body control i work out 3 days a week and do pilates but nothing i seem to do works and me not standing up is making me have very bad arms and it makes me look like im a sloppy skater and im not its just i have a hard time bending at my knees i bend at my waist more and it is because i have no upper body strength does anyone have any suggestions about how to fix this problem?

starskate6.0
03-21-2005, 12:06 AM
I have been working on my upper body strength for the past 6 months and have seen a good improvement in my jumps . Here's what I do . We all know that sit ups are a drag.... :evil: But there are many great way's to enjoy working out and have a lot of fun. I go to the YMCA about 2 or 3 times a week for an hour. there I will spend 20 minutes on the tread mill, and go through a routine on an AB Ball. The AB Ball can be used at home too. I use small free weights in my routines as well. its harder to balance with the extra weight but it makes you use good form , without which you could fall off it. I start with about 50 sit ups on the ball wait 30 seconds then do another 30,wait 30 sec, then do another 20.