View Full Version : very frustrating

babeonblades
03-10-2005, 10:01 PM
i have been skating for last 5 years and absolutely love it and have basically grown used to early mornings, bruises and the total joy at doing new elements but today i just found out that my driving lesssons will cost like $1000 and my parents are saying that i will proobably not do any spring skating or only like 1 day which doesnt even do anything since i do dance as well a freeskate. they don't seem to understand how important skating is in my life. when i suggest that i will pary for some of the ice fees they completly blow up at me saying that they plan a budget and i will have no say in it. i feel so powerless i need some help figuring out what i should do if any one has suggestions they would be greatfully accepted. p.s i have had to try and have adult conversations with them but i get so flustered and overwhelmed its pointless. thanks a million.

dbny
03-10-2005, 10:04 PM
Ouch! A thousand is a lot for driving lessons. Isn't there some student driver's ed course that you can take instead? That's what my daughter did, and even in NYC it was only $350.

fadedstardust
03-11-2005, 12:43 AM
If skating is more important to you than anything else in the whole world, then wait til you turn 18 to drive- then you don't have to have driver's ed classes to pass your license test, and you can have a parent or friend teach you how to drive. In my experience, driver's ed courses are 95 percent watching cheesy movies about drunk driving, and 5 percent driving- and usually in a s***** car with a horrible teacher.

I sacrifice a LOT for skating. I would sacrifice my license for it if I had to, and take the bus everyday. It's just a choice you make- and there will be others. Decide what is most important.

sue123
03-11-2005, 08:38 AM