View Full Version : The "Funk" (Insert scary music here)

FrankR
02-25-2005, 08:03 AM
Hi,

I'm new to skatingforums so I should definitely introduce myself. My name is Franklin Romero. I skate out of the American Academy FSC in Hackensack, New Jersey. I started skating at the age of 23 (I'm now 28) and am currently in Silver I. I skated Bronze I last year.

As of late I've been feeling extremely frustrated on the ice. Particularly with spins and just not feeling that I'm skating with flow. I tell my coach that it feels like I'm "Frankensteining" it down the ice. (You know, knees in full rigamortis mode, arms feeling like a propeller, stumbling and slipping all over the place :roll: ) My freestyle coach and a few of the skating parents that watch me skate at the un-Godly hour of 5:50am on weekdays tell me that it's not so bad. However, I can't help feeling like a clutz out there. The one positive is that by and large my jumps are working. However, it's a poor consolation that I'm perfectly comfortable in the air because we spend a considerably larger amount of time on the ice than we do in the air when we skate our programs. All this has left me feeling that very uncomfortable Dawson's Creekish angst and I'm not liking it. This is what I call the "funk." (insert scary music here...The Overture to The Phantom of the Opera, the violiny stuff from Psycho, etc.) ;)

Has anyone else ever been in this state? If so, the question I have for you all is: "How do you guys bring yourselves out of the "funk?"

Thanks in advance and looking forward to talking with all of you,

Frank

slusher
02-25-2005, 09:08 AM
I think you have to go find George Clinton & Parliament's "We've got the Funk" and play it really loudly at 5:50 in the morning. That is an ungodly hour! (ok, I'm on ice at 6:30am).