View Full Version : double toe vs. double loop

Ellyn
08-08-2002, 01:58 PM
Well, I've been working on double salchow on and off since 1976 :-). Still haven't rotated it completely, but my new coach was happy enough with my attempts today to ask if I'd tried any other doubles yet. I told her I'd had 3 5-minute lessons (about 3 years ago) on double loop, and she was surprised I hadn't tried double toe instead and promised to start teaching it to me next week.

Anyway, my observations in the past decade and back in the 70s suggest that all coaches teach the double salchow first (and usually triple salchow first for those who are starting to learn triples), but there seems to be a difference of opinion about what double to teach second. How much does it depend on the coach's philosophy and how much on the skater's strengths and weaknesses (e.g., preference for edge vs. toe jumps)?

dcden
08-08-2002, 02:49 PM
My coach prefers starting off with the double Salchow and double toe (at least for me). Her reasoning is that, after the entry and once the skater is actually leaving the ice, the two jumps are very similar. For CC rotating jumpers, this means the right leg is swinging to the left to generate the rotation, with weight shifting back to the right side after 1/2 - 1 revolution. With the double loop the weight remains on the right side the whole time, and (I'm guessing as an observer that) the left leg generates the rotation. Take this as a grain of salt, however, because I haven't landed a clean double-anything yet.

LoopLoop
08-08-2002, 02:57 PM
I've just started working on doubles this summer, and my coach started with double loop because the loop is my strongest single. We've also started the double salchow. Personally I HATE toe loops and would be just as happy to skip the double toe altogether and start on a double flip, which is my second-best single jump.