View Full Version : The Endless Search for a Coach

icesk8er31
01-03-2005, 01:22 PM
Ok, just taking a moment to vent here. I have been skating for 7 years now (in private lessons for 5.5 years) and have been through what seems like way too many coaches. My first coach moved abruptly (owing me 3 lessons that were pre-paid). My second coach had problems showing up for lessons (many times not bothering to call or even let me know - I'd just show up and no coach), so I switched to coach #3 - who was great until she started having problems with her home life and then my lessons because a chat fest instead of a skating lesson. Then I went to coach #4, who was great until she got pregnant, and then she stopped showing up or even bothering to cancel. She'd just wave on her way out of the rink, at best. Usually I and her other adult student would skate the entire session, just figuring out along the way that we weren't getting a lesson. I got an interim coach (#5) then, who was just not right for me (her main coaching advice to "get some balls and just do the jump, spin, whatever). Skated a bit with Coach #3 while waiting for Coach #4 to return from the baby. Back to Coach #4 after the baby, but it was never the same, and then she got pregnant again and quit coaching for good. Then I went to Coach #6, who was PERFECT in every way, and I made the most progress I've ever made, but she moved with her husband to a place 6 hours away. Then I spent a while with no coach and finally picked up a new coach (#7 for those of you who are keeping count) a couple of months ago. I just got an email from her saying she can no longer do my lessons due to a schedule conflict. I'm in coaching hell. Has anyone else been through this or am I just jinxed? And the worst thing is, I think I'm back to the coaching drawing board. The only other coaches at my rink are 1) an ice dance coach (I'm freestyle), 2) a hockey coach (um, no), 3) a coach for beginners (doesn't teach above toe and sal that I hav