View Full Version : help on loops and other questions about skating.

kittie067
12-24-2004, 01:55 PM
happy holidays to all! i need some help on my loops. i just started learning them a couple of weeks ago. how do you get all the way around and how do you curl your left foot in front of your right while in the air? also i was wondering if anyone knew of any good books (fiction or nonfiction) about skating. im reading silver blades(even though its below my reading level) cuz they get me in the mood to skate. also i've read some biographies of michelle kwan and tara lipinski. does any one know of some easy footwork i coud try? thanks!
~kittie

AstarZ41
12-24-2004, 02:18 PM
Try it from a RFI 3 turn. After the turn keep your leg in front. Then stay on the RBO edge and keep turning it sharply to 90 degrees until you're facing sideways. Then just hop up to land on RBO.

You can first just go through the motions without jumping, sort of back spin it. Then add a small hop. The main thing is to get the feel of where your weight and arms and legs are supposed to be. If you think of it as a small hop after doing almost the whole thing on the ice it will be easier to learn. Then as you get better you'll be able to do them a lot higher and from different entrances.

Good luck! 8-)

Anita18
12-25-2004, 07:10 PM
Loops are the coolest jumps! I actually found them easier to rotate when I did them from back crossovers, since it's harder to check the loop entrance right after you do an RFI 3.