View Full Version : Ideal age to start?

Hydroblade
12-22-2004, 10:00 AM
I am a assitant caoch for my club and I help teach the little ones how to skate. I was wondering when the kid should be alowed to skate. It is very annoying when a parent brings a 2 year to the ice and expects the kid to want to go out with the protection of thier parents and learn to move on blades 1/8 the width of a balance beam. I also think that at such a younge age the child probly does not even have the ability of walking down pat yet. I know this is true because after i taught a kid on the ice and then i saw the kid in the lobby. He couldn't take four steps without falling over :x

So what do you think is a ideal age for skaters to start.

BladeGal
12-22-2004, 10:13 AM
I'm no expert, but I think that by the time that they have walking down pat, it's a good time to go skating with your child and get them used to the ice. They have those things that help them keep their balance at almost any arena, so I think that helping your child get his or her ''ice legs'' by the time they have walking down to a science is a good age to start..

_BladeGal_

garyc254
12-22-2004, 10:22 AM
I'm no expert, but I think that by the time that they have walking down pat, it's a good time to go skating with your child and get them used to the ice. They have those things that help them keep their balance at almost any arena, so I think that helping your child get his or her ''ice legs'' by the time they have walking down to a science is a good age to start..

I agree with you about starting them as soon as they can walk. However, I would not sign them up for lessons until they are at least 4 or 5 years old. Until that age, most don't have the ability or attention span to follow directions.

As far as using the "ice walkers", I think young skaters are better off just holding a parent's hand. The walkers throw the skaters balance forward, so later when they try to skate without it their balance is wrong.