View Full Version : Problems with an axel, again everyone!!!

skatetiludrop
12-08-2004, 10:53 AM
This is probably the 145th thread concerning the axel but here goes. I started learning it with a coach about 2 weeks ago (I, like most of us, toyed with the jump on my own many times before so it's not like I'm really new to it) and it went quite well. He had me do a series of waltz jump followed by loop/backspin. After these drill jumps, he told me to try them all at once in the air. Despite the fear and all the bad things I heard about trying the axel, I went for it. Thought it wasn't the best axel, I think I had a good start as I didn't land on my face or anything like that :P Since then all I seem to be doing is practicing the jump both on and off ice. I land a perfect axel with ease off-ice but when I try to do it on-ice, I'm often half turn short. I think I spend too much time on the waltz jump part of it and I start to twist my body too late. So basically, after I touch the ice, I have to jump for another half turn to complete the jump. I hope you get what I'm trying to say here. Is there any way to help me complete all the turns in the air or help me twist my body a little quicker? Thanks all in advance for your advice!!! :bow:
Ps. For those learning the axel, just want to say good luck and don't give up yet :giveup: !!

doubletoe
12-08-2004, 04:26 PM
Here are a few things that might be wrong:

1. It's possible that you aren't jumping as high when you do them on the ice because you're a little afraid. If you jump as high on the ice as you do on the floor, the timing of the hip turn in the air should be the same. as it is on the floor. On the ice, jump straight up off your toe, wait until you are almost at the top of your jump, then jerk your right hip in very quickly and follow that with your arms and free leg pulling in.