View Full Version : Teaching Toddler to Skate

Gillika
11-20-2004, 03:55 PM
In my town there are no lessons for kids till they are 4 so, unqualified as I am, I decided to take my 2.5 year-old daughter out to skate myself. Today was her first day. She started out walking on the ice just great, but I thought maybe she should be sliding so I tried to show her. After that she gave up walking and basically just hung on to me while I pushed her around the ice (she was off-balance and it killed my back). She told me several times she wanted to do it by herself but I didn't really know if that's a good idea. Now that I've looked at some other threads here it seems like maybe that is how people learn.

Could anyone tell a not-very-good-skater mom what are the steps you go through just to get your kid started. I'm not trying to teach her anything fancy, just enough to get her out on the ice for the fun of it. Two things: I'm not good at skating backwards (can I still teach/help her?); having someone else teach her at this age won't work because she is really shy and will refuse.

Thanks a LOT for any advice.

Gillika

dbny
11-20-2004, 05:04 PM
First, I hope she is wearing a helmet!

The fact that she just started walking on her own is terrific. That's exactly what the first lessons teach. Just let her "walk". We call it marching, by the way. Have her hold her hands in front at waist height and stretched to the sides a little, as if on a table. Ask her to bend down and touch her knees, then up again. Then see if she can do this while moving. Practice falling with her, and getting up (make a puppy dog or kitty cat, then put one foot in front and push up. Some little ones get up by pushing from their toe picks and hands with tushy up in the air.). Try to make all of this into fun games like Simon Says, Follow the Leader, "Heads, Shoulders, Knees & Toes".

Gillika
11-22-2004, 11:43 AM
She is wearing a helmet. She actually likes it, says she's a hockey player :-)