View Full Version : My daughter wants to skate...

Birdlady
11-01-2004, 11:10 PM
Hello all!

I am new to all of this...my daughter want to ice skate. She is 6. She is just completing her first 6 lessons in a Learn to skate series. Her coach has told me to go ahead and move her up to team lessons already! I already signed her up for 6 more weeks of the Learn to Skate and was told that should be good but after that, she will be bored and is ready to move up to Team Excel (if anyone is familiar with the program)

Question...

What is a decent skate to buy for her? Her feet are always cold is her main complaint. I am totally clueless as to anything about this sport , although I do love to watch it on TV! I trust her coach and the rink she is currently practicing at so no problems there (Iceworks in Aston,PA) but I am sure if she sticks with it, I will have plenty of other questions!

Thanks in advance for anyone so kindly as to answer my totally beginner question!

AshBugg44
11-02-2004, 01:25 AM
I would recommend asking at the ice rink for someone who does skate fittings there. They can recommend the best skates for your daughter based on her skill level, size and such. They probably know much more than I do. I know the lady that does skates at my rink is incredibly knowledgable!

skaternum
11-02-2004, 04:59 AM
Cold feet is pretty common with beginners because, quite frankly, they're just not moving around enough to work up some body heat. Also, if she's wearing cheap plastic rentals ... shiver!